Skip to main content

Inspira Hospitals Earn 3 National Beacon Awards for Excellence

Feb 27, 2024
Logos of Inspira Health and Beacon Awar

Vineland, NJ (February 27, 2024) – Inspira Health is proud to announce that Inspira Medical Center Vineland’s Medical Intensive Care Unit and Progressive Care Unit, and Inspira Medical Center Elmer’s Intensive Care Unit have earned silver-level Beacon Awards for Excellence from The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN).

Inspira’s hospitals have a long history of receiving Beacon Awards. The medical ICU in Vineland earned its first Beacon Award in 2009, and Elmer’s ICU first earned a Beacon in 2014. Since 2009, a total of five patient-care units, including all three ICUs on the Vineland campus, have been recognized with one or more Beacon Awards.

“This prestigious recognition is a testament to the exemplary efforts of our staff, who consistently meet and exceed patient care standards as they strive to provide an outstanding patient experience for our patients and their families,” said Michele Zucconi, M.S.N., R.N., C.C.R.N., Assistant Vice President, Critical Care, Palliative Care and Dialysis for Inspira Health. “Their ongoing commitment to patient safety and clinical excellence is inspiring.”

The Beacon Award for Excellence — a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments — recognizes care teams who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this three-year designation meet national criteria consistent with the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

“The Beacon Award distinction exemplifies nursing teamwork and leadership collaboration resulting in improved, sustained outcomes. Our nurses are resilient and committed to nursing excellence, providing the highest quality care to the communities we serve,” said Kimberly Talley, MSN, APRN, Vice President of Patient Care Services at Inspira Medical Center’s Vineland and Elmer and Inspira Health Center Bridgeton.

“These dedicated healthcare professionals join other members of the exceptional community of nurses who set the standard for optimal patient care,” said AACN President Terry Davis, PhD, RN, NE-BC, CHTP, FAAN. “The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar medical units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care enhances patient outcomes. Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care.”

The silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence signifies an effective approach to policies, procedures, and processes that includes engagement of staff and key stakeholders. Additionally, the units have evaluation and improvement strategies in place and performance measures that are comparable with peers, when compared to relevant benchmarks. Units that earn a silver-level award have met the following evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, and Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement

About the Beacon Award for Excellence

Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. and Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. Units that receive the Beacon Award for Excellence meet criteria in six categories: leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, and learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement. To learn more, visit or call 800-899-2226.

About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses: Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, California, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN represents the interests of more than half a million acute and critical care nurses and includes more than 200 chapters in the United States. The organization’s vision is to create a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution. To learn more about AACN, visit, connect with the organization on Facebook at or follow AACN on Twitter at

For more information about Inspira Health, please visit or call 1-800-INSPIRA.

Topics: Inspira